Spain vs England live updates

Spain vs England live updates

Spain wins World Cup title

Aitana Bonmati wins golden ball

Spain only needed a goal from Olga Carmona in the 29th minute to claim its first World Cup victory.

As a World Cup champion, Spain joins the United States, Germany, Norway, and Japan. Also, it completes La Roja's trifecta after last year's Under-20 and U-18 World Cup victories.

Spain destroyed England's left side, forcing turnover after turnover. One of them led to Carmona's objective.

At middle, Spain stole the ball from Lucy Bronze and lofted it to the left side of the field, where Mariona Caldentey retrieved it.

She moved the ball up the pitch before passing it to Carmona, who scored past Mary Earps in the far corner.

1991: United States – 1995: Norway – 1999: United States – 2003: Germany – 2007: Germany – 2011: Japan – 2015: United States – 2019: United States – 2023: Spain

world cup winners